A 25mm Craftworld: Part 1

I’ve got another painting post for you guys tonight. Except this time I decided to paint a miniature from my other 40k army; Eldar. This will be the first in a new series of posts that will make up my Eldar paint log, one that will take far more posts to complete than my Grey Knights . The Eldar were my first love as a 40k player and I have been building my army over a period of years, but have lacked the time to paint them. To this however, I say “No more!”. This is were it all begins. This is a Dire Avenger Exarch that I painted up last night, taking about 5 hours total to finish.

I started by base coating him with a layer of Regal blue and then proceeded to drybrush over the armor with Ice Blue, making sure to apply more to the raised pieces of the armor. The next step was to give it a wash of Asurmen Blue, and then go back over the utmost raised armor pieces with one last mist of Ice Blue. The cloth pieces are simply Bleached Bone with a wash of Badab Black.
After the armor and cloth, I proceeded to the wraithbone pieces. These were the shimmer shield, the power weapon’s pommel, the runes, and some decorative bordering. These are painted with a coat of Astronomican Grey and then washed with Badab Black. I then went back over them with a light dusting of Astronomican grey in order to lighten up the shading effects of the wash.
The Flag was just base coat of Regal Blue with the symbol painted(very sloppily I might add) on in  Scab Red. The hair is Regal Blue and Ice Blue Stripes with a wash of Asurmen Blue applied afterward.The next thing to be painted was the spirit stones. These were just Scab Red with a dot of Skull White in the corner, covered with a coat of Gloss Varnish. The last part of the body that was painted was the eyes. These were achieved through an intensely complicated procedure. Ready? I painted them Hormagaunt Purple. Yup, pretty complicated ‘aint it?
The overall final piece was the blade of his power weapon. It was painted Skull white and then drybrushed with Scorpion Green. I finished it off with a coat of Gloss Varnish.
Stay tuned for Part 2.

~ by oldbloodalex on November 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
