A 25mm Emperium: Part 1

If you haven’t been able to tell so far, I’m kind of a Warhammer 40,000 nerd. It is a table top science fiction wargame set in the fictional universe of the 41 millennium. I’ve been spending a fair amount of my free time since I was 11 building, painting, and gaming with Games Workshop’s range of plastic and pewter miniatures, so I decided to share my newest adventure in the wargaming world with my readers.
When I was younger, I picked up the novel GREY KNIGHTS by Ben Counter and instantly fell in love with the Grey Knights. However, back then the Grey Knights were part of an army called Daemon Hunters and their miniatures were all very expensive and made of clunky pewter. This changed earlier this year though, when the Grey Knights got there own codex and a new set of plastic miniatures. Yeah, plastic. My childhood dream had come true at last, so I knew that I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to start a new army with them. I swung by the nearest GW store and picked up a core force and some paint.
I just recently started painting them and have decided to post my progress on here for you all to see. I will add posts periodically as I progress through the act of painting the army.

First off is the First Grey Knight Strike Squad. Their armor is Astronomican Grey, with Regal Blue on the right Shoulder pad, and Shining Gold for the lettering in the armor.

Next is there transport, a Razorback. This is essentially a Rhino APC with a Lascannon Turret on top. Same basic Astronomican Grey hull, with a lot of Boltgun Metal washed in Badab Black.

And now for the complete squad, Rhino and all.

Now all that is left is to decide on which washes to use..
At any rate, stay tuned for part 2!

~ by oldbloodalex on October 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
